History of the Marist Brothers in the United States
The following is a summary of brief histories of the Marist communities in the United States and in the other countries under the administration of the American Provincials.
SAINT ANN'S ACADEMY, NEW YORK CITY
Saint Ann's Academy was established in 1892 as the first Marist private school in the United States. Brother Zephiriny, its founder and capable organizer (1892-1901.), secured for the Institute the nucleus of its present American Provinces by his success in the institution. For sixty-five years this school prospered on the corner of Lexington Avenue and 76th Street in the Borough of Manhattan of New York City.
Strange as it may seem this very prominent school had its beginnings as a result of a surprising remark made by the Pastor of St. Jean Baptiste Church to his congregation. It was on the occasion of his public welcome to the brothers to the parish. After exhorting the people to send their children to his parochial school for a Catholic education he announced:
What seemed to be a casual remark startled the small Marist community. The Pastor had in effect told the congregation that the brothers were starting a private school which was to provide special courses. Because this had not been planned, Brother Zephiriny, Director of the Marist community, tried to dissuade the Pastor from this one-sided commitment. His efforts proved futile and the tuition class was opened as planned by the Pastor. On learning of their situation the Superiors in France decided to take the initiative, and sent more brothers to help relieve the original St. Jean Baptiste community of their additional work-load.
When the decision from the Superiors arrived, Brother Zephiriny proceeded to attract boys to the "private floor" academy, which he named in honor of St. Ann. He foresaw the need of a large student body if this venture was to succeed, and began making plans to acquire property. Just at this time the Pastor of St. Jean Baptiste Parish was in the process of redeveloping the parish plant, and was willing to release property to the Marist brothers. The first building which the brothers acquired was a four story tenement building, purchased from the Pastor. As the enrollment increased, other neighboring properties and buildings were purchased in 1897, 1903, 1913, and again in 1931.(2.)
Almost a quarter of a million dollars went to insure the proper development of the Academy during its first twenty-five years.(3.) Resident students were accepted in 1894, and three years later a high school course was added at the request of the parents.(4.) The first graduates (1900) succeeded in passing the Columbia University (Schools of Applied Sciences) tests.(5.) As a result the schools reputation for scholarship attracted additional students.
In order to further insure the success of the schools the brother spent long hours in the classroom and in supervised study and recreation. The long school day lasted from eight A.M. to six P.M. every day. This investment in labor also earned for the brothers a very fine reputation. It was not surprising therefore that in 1905 the parents were willing to send their boys to a summer school vacation camp. What eventually became known as St. Ann's Camp (1908), at Isle LaMotte, Vermont, on Lake Champlain provided supervised study and recreation. The Academy conducted this camp until 1931s when it was dropped after the economic depression set in.
During the nineteen twenties and thirties there was a slight decrease in the enrollment of the Academy. In 1926 a group of resident students of the Academy were transferred to a new sister school, Mount Saint Michael Academy in the Borough of the Bronx, New York City. Following the economic panic of 1929 there was another drop in the enrollment of a hundred students.
Normal enrollment, however, was attained again in 1938.(6.) In the years that followed the student body increased gradually to 1,156 (1956).(7.) Every year a great number of applicants had to be turned away for lack of accommodations. Although the crowded conditions proved to be an asset in the development of a strong school spirit, the Marist superiors decided that the time had come to sell the Academy (eight buildings) and to build a modern school with more suitable space and facilities.
Since property could not be located for this purpose in the Borough of Manhattan, the superiors decided to build the proposed new school in the Borough of Queens in the Diocese of Brooklyn. Archbishop Thomas E. Molloy, Bishop of Brooklyn (1956) suggested to Brother Linus William, Provincial, a site in Jamaica, Long Island. Brother Francis Xavier was then appointed to supervise the drawing up of plans for the new school and to hire architects and construction companies to build it.
In September 1957 the faculty and students of St. Ann's were transferred to what is now known as Archbishop Molloy High School. Here accommodations for seventeen hundred-fifty day students provide the best in modern facilities.
ARCHBISHOP MOLLOY HIGH SCHOOL, JAMAICA, LONG ISLAND
A great step forward in the development of the Province of the United States was this transfer of St. Ann's Academy. The major problem of lack of room for expansion, which had caused anxiety since the early nineteen thirties, was now solved.
Brother John Lawrence, Director of St. Ann's Academy, continued his term as Director in the new school. The student body with the exception of the lower grades were to continue their studies at the new building. The upper grades were gradually dropped one each year. The last of these (the original sixth grade) graduated in 1960.
The religious training, which had developed so many vocations to the priesthood, to the brotherhood, and to positions of leadership in parish life at St. Ann's Academy, was naturally continued at the new school. Every year a similar number of vocations (thirty) still apply for admission to the diocesan priesthood and to various congregations.
At the request of Monsignor Henry M. Hald, Diocesan Superintendent of Schools of Brooklyn, Archbishop Molloy High School extended its services to include a summer school. In July 1959, five hundred and fifty students from the Borough of queens registered for courses. During the past summer (1960) six hundred and fifty-six attended this summer school.
Since its foundation Archbishop Molloy High School has served as an educational center for the Province. Beginning in 1957j, the annual Marist Educational Conferences have been held here. In 1959 this school was included in the Esopus Province at the time of the division. It now plays host to brothers of both Provinces at these conferences.
Today the staff consists of forty-nine brothers and ten layteachers. It educates 1,756 students, an increase of six hundred over the former Academy's enrollment.(8.)
SAINT JEAN BAPTISTE SCHOOL, NEW YORK CITY
The first Marist faculty to teach in New York City arrived at St. Jean Baptiste School on 76th Street, in August 1892. Brother Zephiriny, Superior, and four brothers had come at the request of the Pastor of the local parish, Father F. Tetreaut. This priest had traveled to France to see the Marist Superiors in order to request the services of the brothers in his Franco-American school. The Assistant General in charge of the North American missions, Brother Stratonique, showed great interest in the Pastors appeal. He thought it wise to send brothers to such a school as St. Jean Baptiste where the brothers could adapt themselves without too much difficulty to the American way of life. He believed that it Marist start in such a thriving city with a large Catholic population would eventually prove to be very advantageous to the development of the Institute in the United States. He believed also that a community house in this port city would provide a temporary residence for the many brothers arriving in North America to begin their missionary work.(9.) As attested in the preceding chapters his predictions were quite correct.
The first community reported to the classrooms on September 15th. There were seventy-five students of French origin enrolled on that day. When the brothers began to teach, they were astounded. that the students knew and understood very little French. As a result the brothers had the additional task of mastering the English language in order to teach.(10.) Another surprise was the Pastors announcement of the opening of a private school by the brothers as stated previously.
Father Tetreautnegotiated the sale of property to the brothers for their academy. He assisted them for eight years. until his return to his native Canada in 1900. That year the jurisdiction of his parish was turned over to the Fathers of the Blessed Sacrament. It was through their initiative that a new Saint Jean Baptiste grammar school was built in 1925. The old school was then turned over to the brothers.
Nine years later, after forty-two years of service to this parish, the brothers were withdrawn. This was due to the economic effects of the depression on the parish budget.
SAINT VINCENT DE PAUL SCHOOL, NEW YORK CITY
In 1897 the Fathers of Mercy, who conducted Saint Vincent de Paul'' parish on 24th Street in New York City, invited the brothers to teach the higher grades in their small school. At the request of Father Wucher, the Pastor, three brothers in residence at St. Ann's Academy, traveled to this small Franco-American parish to teach.
The brothers however did not teach here long. Within ten years the more prosperous French families moved to the fashionable Morningside Heights section of the City. Here the Fathers opened Notre Dame. Church for them. Consequently the number of students at the school decreased considerably and the brothers were withdrawn in 1908.(11.)
SAINT PAUL SCHOOL, NEW YORK CITY
At the turn of the century there were many Irish Catholic families living in what is now known as the Harlem section of New York City. Monsignor MoQuirk, the Pastor of St. Paul's Church en 118th Street in that district,invited the Marist 'Brothers to teach in a new parish school he had built in 1910. Three brothers, also in residence at St. Ann's Academy, were sent to teach at St. Paul's. The good work pursued by the brothers in the higher grades of this school was terminated in 1918 when a noticeable decline of male student registration forced the Pastor to make the school co-educational under the direction of the sisters already teaching in the lower grades. That year the brothers were therefore reassigned to other Marist schools in the Province.(12.)
SAINT IGNATIUS LOYOLA SCHOOL, NEW YORK CITY
In 1913 Reverend Havens Richard, S.J., Rector of Saint Ignatius Church, on Park Avenue and 84th Street requested two Marist brothers to teach the upper grades of the parochial school attached to the parish. Grateful Marist superiors did not hesitate to honor the request of the former spiritual advisor of the brothers in Poughkeepsie. Two brothers from St. Ann's Academy were assigned to the school. Four years later a third brother was added to the Marist contingent.(13.)
After eight years of service the brothers had to withdraw from this school in 1921 because of lack of personnel due to the departure of brothers forced to return to Europe to join the French armed services.
SAINT AGNES HIGH SCHOOL, NEW YORK
The Marist Brothers were first asked to teach at St. Agnes Grammar School in 1903. Brother Felix Eugene, Provincial, arranged with the Pastor, Msgr. Henry Braun, to sent the first group of three brothers to teach there. Because there was no parish residence for these brothers, they commuted every day to the school from St. Ann's Academy. During the next twenty years a full faculty of brothers taught the Grades there.
In 1923 a new pastor Monsignor John Chidwick, provided the brothers with a residence on 36th Street in the Borough of Manhattan, and encouraged them to begin a high school department, which became one of the most prominent in New York City. During the depression years many Catholic families moved from St. Agnes Parish because of construction of commercial buildings in the vicinity. As a result the enrollment in the grammar school suffered, and the brothers were withdrawn from the Grades in 1937. Students from outside the parish applied for admission to the high school,and consequently this department prospered. At present ten brothers and four lay teachers teach three hundred and sixty-one boys.(14.)
Students who have attended both the Grammar and the High School Departments have been strongly influenced by the religious spirit inculcated by the priests and brothers in this parish. Religious vocations to the priestly life and to the brotherhood have hence been numerous. The most illustrious of these is His Excellency Bishop Edward Dargin, Auxilliary Bishop of the Archdiocese of New York. The present director of the school, Brother Timothy Gerard, and the Provincial of the Poughkeepsie Province, Brother John Lawrence, also attended this school.
Since the division of the United States Province the personnel St. Agnes High School is furnished by the Poughkeepsie Province.
MOUNT ST. MICHAEL ACADEMY, NEW YORK CITY
Mount St. Michael Academy was established as a sister-school to St. Ann's Academy in 1926. It was a farsighted decision that planned this school in the northeastern section of the Borough of the Bronx on a twentytwo acre property in 1920. Six years later the buildings were ready to open their doors to day and resident students.(15.)
Brother Leo, Provincial, appointed Brother Mary Florentius as the founding director. There were fourteen brothers and sixty-two students which composed the community and student body in September 1926. One year later the enrollment had increased to two hundred and thirty-nine.(16.)
The development of the school was very encouraging until the effects of the economic depression of the early thirties caused serious concern. Dedicated brothers, such as Brother Francis Xavier, who was appointed director in 1933, canvassed neighboring parishes for students. He sponsored various advertising programs to increase the enrollment. The success which he achieved was evident in the increase of students to seven hundred at the end of his term in 1939.(17.)
Prior to the depression, a four story dormitory building had been built in 1928, and a cottage near the Mount had been acquired to accommodate part of the staff. After the depression, and especially during the forties„ it became again imperative that additional facilities be acquired. Another cottage to serve as a second brothers' residence was therefore built in post war years. In 1948 a classroom-gymnasium building was begun, and dedicated in 1950 by His Eminence Francis Cardinal Spellman. Six years later two stories were added to the main residence of the brothers to provide rooms for fifty-five brothers. The complete structure was then called "Champagnat Hall." Throughout the years, smaller buildings had been constructed, to serve as field houses, garages, and utility buildings.(18.) One benefactor, Mr. Patrick McGovern, aided in the development of a regulation football field which was dedicated to his memory. The present facilities in sports are among the best the high schools of New York City can offer. The gymnasium is the largest high school gymnasium in New York City.(19.)
Recently several lay teachers have been employed to help the faculty of brothers to teach and educate 1,581 boys.(20.) Besides a reputation for scholarship and athletics and an active student body, the school enjoys the loyal support of an enthusiastic group of parents and friends. The Men's Club and Mothers' Club, for instance have been instrumental in organizing a number of social functions to raise funds for school improvements, for financial assistance to the Marist houses of studies, for the Marist missions in the Philippines and Japan, and for various other major allied projects. The student body itself has vied with these groups in financing the Missions by generous contributions to the Propagation of the Faith Society.
The school has been outstanding in the leadership it has shown in its programming, in its interest in the professional advancement of the brothers, and in its student spiritual activities.(21.) It was here in 1954 a special Marian Year tribute to the Blessed Mother was held for all Marist students in the New York metropolitan area. In 1955 the Marist Educational Conferences were initiated here. Two hundred brothers gathered to initiate various projects to advance professional interest. It was also at this school that such organizations as the Marist Forensics League (1951), and the Marist Basketball Invitational Tournament were started (1954) and the Marist Sodality Conventions (1959).(22.)
The spiritual atmosphere of the school has also generated interest in the religious life. Numerous students have gone on to the priesthood and the brotherhood. Since the division of the United States Province the latter study at the houses of studies in the Poughkeepsie Province to which this school and its faculty belong.
CARDINAL HAYES HIGH SCHOOL, NEW YORK CITY
Soon after Archbishop Spellman was installed as the Ordinary of the Archdiocese of New York he energetically sought to advance the construction of high schools. To this end he began a building program in various parts of the Archdiocese. The first of these schools was the Cardinal Hayes Memorial High School built in 1940. When the school opened its doors in September 1941, the Marist Brothers were in charge of the Mathematics and French Departments.
Brother John Lawrence was appointed as the director of the first Brothers' community, which consisted of thirteen brothers. Their residence was situated in mid-Manhattan on 79th Street, between Third and Lexington venues in New York City. A forty-five minute subway trip was required to reach the school, which is situated on Grand Concourse at 153rd Street In the Borough of Bronx. Eight years later a permanent residence was acquired by the Archdiocese on 81st Street for a community of eighteen brothers. The subway ride (I.R.T.) is still a daily event.
From the start the brothers co-operated with the Principal, now Bishop Philip Furlong, with the priests and with brothers of other congregations in developing the school. At the present time there are 94 teachers ion the faculty who have in their care 2,433 boys.
The success achieved by the brothers was recognized in the requests of Cardinal Spellman for brothers to staff other diocesan high schools. Because of a lack of personnel however, the Marist brothers have provided for only two other faculties; in Bishop Dubois High School, New York City (1947); and in Our Lady of Lourdes High School, Poughkeepsie, New York (1958). These three schools are now staffed by the Poughkeepsie Province, whose provincial, Brother John Lawrence, was the first Director of the Cardinal Hayes Brothers' community.
SAINT HELENA HIGH SCHOOL, NEW YORK CITY
The Marist brothers were invited to teach at St. Helena Grammar School in the Borough of the Bronx in 1946. Monsignor Arthur J. Scanlan, the Pastor, who was inspired by a priestly zeal to provide a Catholic education for the children of his parish "from kindergarten to college" succeeded in obtaining three brothers in 1946.
This first faculty, headed by Brother Conan Vincent, lived at St. Ann's Academy during the first year of this school. One year later the brothers moved into what had been St. Joseph Institute for the Deaf and Dumb on Hutchison River Parkway, to set up living quarters, as well as classrooms.(23.) In the years that followed more appropriate residence quarters were provided for the brothers. The school building was renovated to take care of the education of eleven hundred boys. Another building program is now under way to provide better facilities for the expanding brothers' community.
The St. Helena Boys' High School Departnent was started in September 1949. Fifty students were enrolled. Students from outside the parish, including many from nearby Long Island, were later admitted to the school. By 1955 the growth of the high school enrollment was such that the brothers teaching the Grades had to be withdrawn from them in order to staff the High School.(24.) That year two lay teachers had to be employed. Three years later there were twenty-one helping the twenty-nine brothers conducting a double session service.(25.) Because the school did not have adequate accommodations to continue a double session, it was discontinued the following year.(26.)
One characteristic of the school is the active participation of students in spiritual organizations. The Sodality of the Blessed Virgin, for instance, has been singularly successful in preparing leaders in parish life. Religious vocations from this school have been especially numerous. At this time there are one hundred and thirty alumni studying for the priesthood, or the brotherhood.(27.) Since 1959 those studying for the latter have been assigned to the Esopus Province, which furnishes the faculty for this school.
BISHOP DUBOIS HIGH SCHOOL, NEW YORK CITY
Cardinal Spellman established Bishop Dubois High School in 1947 as a sister school to Cardinal Hayes High School. Several priests and brothers from the Hayes faculty were assigned to organize the school. One year later a Marist community was formed to staff the Mathematics, Science and Language Departments. Brother Athanasius Norbert was appointed director of the first community of six brothers, whose residence was opened on West 70th Street in the Borough of Manhattan. The school itself is on West 155th Street.
Monsignor Michael Buckley a former Marist student of St. Agnes School in New York City, was appointed as the first Principal. At present there are five priests and nine brothers educating five hundred students in Bishop Dubois High School. These brothers belong to the Poughkeepsie Province.
SAINT MARY'S HIGH SCHOOL, MANHASSET, NEW YORK
In 1950 the first Marist community of six brothers to be assigned to the (then) Brooklyn Diocese arrived at St. Mary's Parish at the request of the Pastor, Monsignor John K. Sharp. This far-sighted priest wished to provide the youth in the expanding community of Manhasset with a Catholic high school to be conducted by the Marist Brothers and the Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary. His plans included a modern school building for five hundred boys and girls.
Brother Nicholas Mary was appointed first director by Brother Thomas Austin, Provincial. The original community of six brothers increasea from year to year as the number of students became larger. Within seven years the school had to expand facilities for an enrollment that had doubled. In 1957 a four story building was erected as the boys' building. The original school was left to the girls. The brothers residence was transferred from a house across the street from the school. to the fourth floor of the new building. There are now twenty brothers and three lay teachers in charge of 693 boys.
One characteristic of this school, which is staffed by the brothers of the Esopus Province, is its special concern for Marist Missions„ Since 1950 thousands of dollars have been collected to help support the Marist Philippine Missions. One Philippine foundation, Notre Dame of Dadiangas High School and College owes much to the special assistance given by the students and parents of St. Mary's School. Three brothers from the St. Mary's community left for Japan and the Philippines in 1956 and 1957. This enthusiasm for Mission work in Manhasset is a attributable to the zeal and religious spirit which was first introduced by the late Brother Nicholas Mary, the first director.
RESURRECTION-ASCENSION SCHOOL, REGO PARK, NEW YORK
Resurrection-Ascension School in the Borough of Queens was the first Grammar School the Provincial Administration decided to staff in the New York area in twenty-eight years. Brother Linus William, Provincial, answered the request of the Pastor, Father David Lynch, by appointing Brother James Bernard director of the community of seven to teach the higher Grades.
In September 1954 these brothers were given charge of two hundred and forty boys. The number has remained substantially the same for the past six years. The rest of the student body was assigned to the classes of the Sisters of Charity of Halifax (Nova Scotia, Canada). Most of the graduates from the brothers' classes continue their education at nearby Catholic High Schools including the brothers' school, Archbishop Molloy High School in Jamaica, Long Island.
MARIST HIGH SCHOOL, BAYONNE, NEW JERSEY
The opening of Marist High School in Bayonne# New Jersey, was a significant step in the expansion of the Marist teaching apostolate in the United States. Previous to this, for sixty-two years in fact, various provincials had opened Marist communities especially in New York City. With the opening of a Marist school in New Jersey, a policy to meet the educational needs of the Archdiocese of Newark was begun.
This first Marist school was established in September 1954. Brother Linus William, Provincial, assigned Brother Leo Sylvius, Director, and four brothers to the arduous task of teaching and laboring to recondition old school buildings into a smooth running and efficient institution.
The school property was purchased by the Province from the Sisters of St. Joseph (Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia). For many years the sisters had conducted Holy Family Academy in three ancient three-story frame buildings on the corner of Hudson Boulevard and 8th Street in Bayonne. When the brothers acquired the property it was with the hope of using the buildings until such time as a more appropriate site could be found on which to build. Therefore they expected a two year alteration program.(28.)
Unfortunately proper developments for a new property were held up for six and a half years. From the first group of one hundred and forty-students in September 1954 the increasing numbers have overcrowded the old quarters. With the assistance of the local civil authorities and of St. Andrews Parish, a P.A.L. gymnasium was rented for the physical education classes, and the former St.. Andrews Grammar School building was loaned to the brothers to house the freshman and sophomore classes.(29.)
Every year more brothers were assigned to Marist High, so that presently there are seventeen brothers and three lay teachers educating four hundred and fifteen boys.
In this school's short history it has earned a reputation for high scholastic achievement. The numerous scholarships obtained by the graduates certify to this. As a result, numerous pastors have asked for the brothers to teach in their respective parishes in nearby Jersey cities. ?'n 1959 one brother from this community was assigned to help organize a high school in Roselle, New Jersey. Brothers from the Esopus Province now supply the personnel to both these schools.
ROSELLE CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL, ROSELLE, NEW JERSEY
The Marist Brothers established a community at Roselle Catholic High School in September 1960. The late Monsignor James J. Carberry (+1960), Pastor of St. Joseph the Carpenter Parish in Roselle, New Jersey, requested the service of the brothers to teach in a parish high school he planned. As mentioned previously, one brother, Brother Leo Francis, from Marist High School in Bayonne, New Jersey, helped to organize this high school during the 1959-1960 scholastic year. One of the parish priests and two lay teachers were also included in the faculty that initiated the first class of forty-two boys.
The high school was inaugurated in a throe story frame building, formerly a sisters' convent. A brothers' residence was purchased by the parish. These buildings were regarded as temporary since the original plans called for the development of Roselle Catholic at the St. Walaberger's Orphanage nearby. The plans called for a Marist faculty to teach 500 boys.
Following the death of Monsignor Carberry, Archbishop Boland of Newark decided to include the late pastor's plans in his own diocesan campaign to construct seven regional high schoo1s.(30.) As a result the character of the projected school has changed from a parochial to a diocesan school. The Archbishop drew up the final plans with Rev. Brother Paul Ambrose, Assistant General, on the lather's visitation in February 1961.(31.) These plans include the renovation of St. Walaberger's Orphanage, the beginning of the construction of a gymnasium-classroom wing, a brothers' residence adjacent to the school and expansive athletic outdoor facilities. The program calls for the future enrollment of one thousand students. At this writing (1961) there are 11.3 boys enrolled and an addition of two hundred registered for the fall semester.(32.)
CAMP ST. JOSEPH, BELLPORT, NEW YORK
In the spring of 1960 the Province of Esopus acquired a fortyfour acre camp at Bellport, New York, sixty-five miles from New York City. That summer Brother Athanasius Norbert, director of Archbishop Molloy High School, was appointed to supervise the reconditioning of the buildings. The facilities at the camp include: two houses, several large bungalows, and a swimming pool. Its proximity to Smith Point Beach on Fire Island provides ample accommodations for a successful camp.
As the population increases in this section of the Diocese of Rockville Center (Suffolk County) it is foreseen that a Catholic High school for boys will be needed. The superiors view this extensive property as an ideal location for providing this educational need and other Marist projects.
SAINT ANN'S HERMITAGE, POUGHKEEPSIE, NEW YORK
St. Ann's Hermitage, now Marist College, is a hundred acre property which was purchased by the Marist Brothers in 1905 and 1908. It consisted of two properties: the Godwin estate; and the Beck estate; both limited on the west by the Hudson River, and on the east by North Road, Poughkeepsie, The name St. Ann's Hermitage was suggested by Brother Zephiriny (who negotiated the purchase of the properties) to honor his special patroness, St. Ann and his Mother Province, Notre Dame de l'Hermitage.
Immediately after these properties became Marist possessions, several buildings on the properties were renovated for community life and for classrooms. The first community to be established there was the Juniorate in 1906 on the Godwin property. Within four years three other communities were established on the adjacent Beck estate: the novitiate (1908); and the scholasticate (1910); and the faculty of nearby St. Peter's Grammar School.(33.) Lastly, the American Provincial House was established at the Juniorate building in 1911.
This training center also provided the Province with a community cemetery. The first to be interred there was Brother Charles Camille in 1908. Twenty years later the cemetery property in the southern-extremity was walled in beautifully. The last grave, the forty-eighth, was filled in 1953. Since that time deceased brothers have been buried in the Marist cemetery in Esopus, New York.
SAINT ANN'S JUNIORATE
St. Ann's Juniorate was the first house of studies opened in the United States to train young boys in the higher grades who wished to study for the Marist brotherhood. From a group of thirteen boys, this Juniorate for the next thirty-six ears (1906-1942) helped to prepare hundreds of boys for the novitiate.(34.) During these years the Juniorate was directed by four successive masters of juniors.(35.)
Because this Juniorate could not provide adequate room for the increasing number of juniors, a second juniorate was opened in Tyngsboro, Massachusetts in 1924.(36.) Eighteen years later the Provincial Council decided to close St. Ann's Juniorate, and the juniors were then transferred to Marist Preparatory, which was opened in the summer of 1942 in Esopus, New York.
SAINT ANN'S NOVITIATE
For forty-one years. a three story frame building at St. Ann's Hermitage housed the Marist novitiate which was opened in 1908, with nine postulants and Brother Boniface as master of novices. On July 26th, 1908, the feast of the patroness, St. Ann, these young men were invested as the first group of Marist novices in the United States. Until 1949 four successive masters of novices trained four hundred and eighty-five young men for the religious life at this Novitiate.(37.)
Here as in the other houses on the Hermitage property, there was insufficient room for the growing number of applicants. Money being scarce, a new building was never constructed. Therefore the brothers themselves added a small frame dormitory near the main building in 1941.(38.) After World War II the increasing number of candidates seeking admission to the Institute made a large building imperative. The Provincial superiors then decided to transfer the Novitiate to the Tyngsboro Juniorate during the summer of 1949. The vacated house was then turned into a juniorate which replaced the Tyngsboro Juniorate, and was closed three years later. Presently this old novitiate building is used as a summer residence for brothers working on the constructions under way at Marist College.
ST. ANN'S SCHOLASTICATE
The first American scholasticate was opened at St. Ann's Academy in New York City in 1895. The students were a group of French brothers, who were tutored by members of the Academy faculty. In 1909 a regular scholasticate was inaugurated there by Brother Mary Florentius for the young professed brothers who had finished their novitiate training. This arrangement proved unsatisfactory, and the scholasticate was transferred to the Hermitage property in Poughkeepsie in 1910.
Seventeen years later during Brother Leo's administration (19211931) plans to establish a junior college were entrusted to Brother Emile Nestor, Master of Scholastics (1927-1931). With the help of the Jesuit Fathers, a two year college affiliated with Fordham University was organized ;; in 1928. This normal school was known for eighteen years as Marist Training School.(39.)
Ten years later Brother Paul Stratonic, Provincial, (1937-1942) opened negotiations to provide the Province with a four year college. To this end he appointed Brother Paul Ambrose as master of scholastics (1943-195?) and entrusted to his care the success of this venture. The latter won the interest and services of Dr. Roy J. Deferrari, the Secretary General of the Catholic University of America in Washington, D. C. to guide the work. After specific requirements were met, the Board of Education of the University of the State of New York awarded a provisional charter on September 20, 1946, to what became known for thirteen years as Marian College.(40.) The Provincial became president of this College and Brother Paul Ambrose, the first dean.
As the number of scholastics increased, Brother Paul Ambrose was relieved of the duties of dean in order to more effectively train the young religious and to direct the building program for the College. In 1955 he replaced the Provincial as the College president.(41.) Three years later upon his election as Assistant General for the American and Chinese Provinces, he was replaced as president by Brother Linus Richard.(42.)
Since 1949 several buildings have been constructed on the campus to provide the needs of the scholasticate. The first of these was a gymnasium-utility building. It was erected by the brothers under the direction of Brother Francis Xavier, a member of the College faculty. Three years later Brother Nilus Vincent, another member of the faculty, was given charge of a twenty year building program. The first building to be completed-was a chapel to honor Our Lady, Seat of Wisdom. It was dedicated by His Eminence Francis Cardinal Spellman in May 195 4. Four years later this prelate returned to dedicate a dining room-study hall building, an administration building and a dormitory.(43.) He also dug the first spade full of earth for the construction of a classroom building which will house the Spellman Library. The latter building, now known as Donnelly Hall, is almost ready for occupation (1961). It is circular in form and has a capacity to seat 1500 students and to accommodate 200 in laboratories, a cafeteria and the library.(44.)
These new facilities, constructed by the brothers have allowed for the increase in the number of student-brothers, and for the admission of lay students. Since 1950 many brothers from foreign lands have attended Marist College to obtain American degrees. These included brothers from Canada, Mexico, China, Philippine Islands, Spain, Germany, Cuba and Brazil. The present enrollment consists of 660 students and it is anticipated there will be an increase of 200 next year.(45.)
In March 1961 the Housing and Home Finance Agency of the Federal Government helped the expansion program by awarding a t.;5659000 loan to the College. This loan, the first, will facilitate plans for the construction of a dormitory for 120 students. It is expected that the building will be completed by September 1962.(46.)
The College in recent years has gained a prominent place in the religious, academic and civic life of the mid-Hudson area. It is the only Catholic men's college between New York City and Albany. As a result it has been able to offer such additional services as private retreats, refresher courses, special courses for nurses at St. Francis Hospital nearby, and released time instructions for the students in the local public institutions.
The College is also the scene of-much study on the life of the Blessed Virgin. In temporary quarters, Our Lady's Library begun in 1950 by Brother Cyril Robert, contains 10,800 volumes on Mariology. In the near future a special building will house this valuable collection.(47.)
At the division of the United States Province Marian College was assigned to the Poughkeepsie Province. The new Provincial Council of this Province is pursuing a progressive policy to offer the services of the College to both religious and lay students. Brothers from the two Provinces help to staff and attend this scholasticate. In the spring of 1960 the name Marian was changed to the permanent title of Marist College by the Provincial Counci1.(48.) This Council also received an additional piece of property near the College from St. Peters Parish. The future development of the College both academic and physical is quite promising.
ST. ANNS HERMITAGE PROVINCIAL HOUSE
The Provincial House community was established at the Poughkeepsie Juniorate in March 1911. The community consisted of the provincial administration, a few retired brothers, the faculty, and several brothers assigned to manual work. A director general was appointed to direct the various communities on the Hermitage property, to supervise the development of enterprises such as the dairy farm, gardens, orchards, printing and tailor shops.
The wish of Brother Ptolemeus, the first American Provincial, was to build a provincial house separate from the other buildings. Unfortunately, as mentioned in Chapter III, this was not possible, and additions to the juniorate building had to do instead.(49.) In 1950 a building program in Esopus, New York enabled the staff of Marist Preparatory to vacate the "Mansion" which became the Provincial Residence.
When the United States Province was divided in 1959, the Provincial House in Esopus was assigned as the headquarters of the Province of the same name. Poughkeepsie was assigned as the center of the other Province. For almost two years the Provincial administered the Poughkeepsie Province from Marist College. But in 1960 the Provincial Residence was transferred to Nicholas House at Marist Hall, Cold Spring-on-Hudson, New York.
ST. PETERS SCHOOL, POUGHKEEPSIE, NEW YORK
In 1908 the Marist Brothers were invited to teach in St. Peter's School in Poughkeepsie by Monsignor Joseph Sheehan, Pastor. Three brothers were assigned to this school in September of that year. They made their residence in a cottage at the Hermitage property.
In 1927 Brother Joannes Marius, Principal, introduced a high school department in this school. Four brothers composed that faculty. Four others taught the higher grades of the Grammar School.(50.) After a very conspicuous beginning the high school was discontinued because of financial difficulties, the result again of the depression of the early thirties. Attempts to obtain support from the Poughkeepsie parishes to provide a Central Catholic High School at St. Peter's proved futile. So in 1936 the brothers withdrew from the parish after twenty-eight years of service.
MARIST PREPARATORY, ESOPUS, NEW YORK
During the administration of Brother Paul Stratonic, Provincial, (1937-1942) plans were abandoned for a single major structure to house the various communities in Poughkeepsie at the request of the major superiors in France. They thought the cost of construction materials would soar during the war years. They preferred the purchase of an estate along the Hudson River where several were available. With the help of His Excellency Bishop Stephen Donohue, Auxiliary Bishop of New York, the Provincial located a very beautiful estate in Esopus, New York.(51.) This new property, which is eleven miles from Poughkeepsie on the western shore of the Hudson River, was then purchased from the Episcopal Diocese of New York in the summer of 1942. What had been originally built as the home of the financier Oliver Hazard Payne became a juniorate named Marist Preparatory.
For the past eighteen years (1942-1960) it has served to train hundreds of young high school boys from the sophomore year to senior year. The senior year was introduced at this preparatory school in 1952. Four successive masters of juniors directed the training of the students.(52.)
Every year both brothers and juniors have labored to renovate the buildings and to beautify the landscape which showed signs of neglect. To provide for more adequate accommodations, new buildings were constructed by the brothers in the early fifties. These included a chapel, a gymnasium, a dormitory, a dining room and a kitchen, a recreation hall, and several other necessary units. In 1952 the Juniorate community moved into these new quarters known as the Villa, thereby leaving the Provincial House community the full use of the Mansion.(53.)
Within five years these new buildings. which were meant to accommodate one hundred and twenty-five juniors proved to be inadequate. To relieve the situation the brothers and juniors renovated what was known as Holy Rosary Cottage during the summer of 195 7. In September of that year the senior class took a residence in the three story building which they dubbed "the Seniorate".(54.)
In September 1960 the juniors who belonged to the Poughkeepsie Province since February 1959 were transferred to the respective houses of studies of that Province.(55.) With the consequent reduced numbers at Marist Preparatory, it was possible for The Seniorate to be turned over to the Novitiate for use as a dormitory. Other improvements at the Preparatory include macadamized roads, ball fields, a swimming pool, and other facilities.
MARIST PROVINCIAL HOUSE, ESOPUS, NEW YORK
In August 1952 Brother Paul Ernest, Director General of the Provincial House community in Poughkeepsie, moved his community to the Esopus "Mansion". Brothers involved in maintenance duties, and provincial services (tailors, supply distributor) were assigned to this community.
One year later Brother Paul Ernest selected a site near Marist Preparatory in the northwestern section of the property for a community cemetery. It was landscaped; a set of outdoor stations of the cross were erected in the wooded area around the cemetery, and a bronze crucifixion scene was placed in a prominent spot. The first brother, Brother Joseph Orens, was interred in 1954. Since that time nineteen others have been interred there.(56.)
MARIST BROTHERS NOVITIATE, ESOPUS, NEW YORK
Six months after the division of the United States Province, a separate novitiate was established at the Provincial House in Esopus for the Province of the same name. Brother Peter Hilary was appointed master of novices for thirty-six young college men who entered in September 1959. Because of the proximity to Marist College in Poughkeepsie, arrangements were made with the Poughkeepsie superiors for these postulants to attend daily courses there during the scholastic year 1959-1960. At this time the postulants are given the college courses at the Novitiate.(57.)
In August 1960 the first group of (twenty-four) postulants was invested with the Marist cassock as novices. An increase of thirty-seven postulants during the scholastic year 1960-1961 made it imperative that a dormitory-recreation hall building be constructed. Until the completion of this new structure the Seniorate cottage on the Marist Preparatory section of the property will serve as a dormitory.(58.)
HOLY TRINITY SCHOOL, POUGHKEEPSIE, NEW YORK
In September 1957 a magnificent modern school building of stone was erected in Holy Trinity Parish in the Arlington section of Poughkeepsie, by Father Leo J. Gregg, Pastor. To this school four Marist brothers were assigned for the upper grades in 1957. Brother Conan Vincent and his community of three brothers resumed the work of teaching in a Poughkeepsie school - a work that had to be discontinued twenty-one years before.
An average of two hundred students a year has benefited by the education offered by the brothers. Notable results have been achieved by the students in scholarship and in athletics. After graduation the students have the opportunity to continue their education under the Marists, at Our Lady of Lourdes High School in Poughkeepsie.
OUR LADY OF LOURDES HIGH SCHOOL, POUGHKEEPSIE, NEW YORK
For many years after the closing of St. Peter's High School in 1936, serious considerations were given to the establishment of a Catholic High School in Poughkeepsie. A decision was finally reached in 1957 by Cardinal Spellman who purchased the old Poughkeepsie High School building and property.(59.) The Marist brothers and the Dominican Sisters of Newburgh were invited to staff the diocesan school he had in mind in the respective boys' and girls' departments.
The administration of the school was assigned to a former Marist student, Father Matthew Cox (now Monsignor), who became supervising principal. Brother Linus William, Provincial, assigned Brother Florent Augustine as director of the brothers' community, and as acting principal of the boys' departments. The original community of four brothers is being augmented annually so that in 1963 a faculty of twenty-one brothers will supply the needs of that department. A temporary community residence for the brothers was established on South Hamilton Street near the school. At present a modern three story building has just been completed. Today there are thirteen brothers of the Poughkeepsie Province teaching 368 boys.
On May 1, 1960, His Eminence Francis Cardinal Spellman dedicated the renovated buildings. It is expected that the work of the construction of the gymnasium will be completed in 1962.(60.)
ST. PETERS SCHOOL, HAVERSTRAW, NEW YORK
The Marist brothers in 1931 opened a community in Haverstraw, New York, a small town in the lower Catskill Mountains. Brother Joseph Albert, Director, and three brothers were assigned to the higher Grades in St. Peter's Grammar School in that city.(61.) Father Maher, the Pastor, who had invited the brothers to teach there, envisioned a high school staffed by Marist Brothers in the near future. Unfortunately Father Maher died before he could carry out his plan, and his successors have found it financially impossible to build this high school. Four brothers are still assigned to St. Peter's.(62.)
For the past nineteen years, the brothers have contributed to parish life by their promotion of various activities. Since 1946 the brothers have been employed by the parish as counselors for a Haverstraw summer day camp.(63.)
MARIST HALL, COLD SPRING-ON-HUDSON, NEW YORK
After the officials of the Poughkeepsie Province surveyed fifty estates for the location of a provincial juniorate, they selected for this purpose the vacated Cold Spring Institute, twenty-miles from Poughkeepsie,, New York. It was purchased from the Walt Foundation in the spring of 1960.(64.)
During the summer of that year Brother Leo Vincent was assigned as the first master of juniors of what became known as Marist Hall. He was placed in charge of the renovation of the several buildings to accommodate sixty juniors. The latter moved into these new quarters in September 1960 to pursue their high school studies.
The Marist Hall property is a 160 acre estate whose buildings are styled in French provincial architecture. The Provincial House, a few yards distant from the main section, is now known as Nicholas House.(65.) In the near future a classroom-gymnasium building will be erected to complete the facilities for this new house of studies for the Poughkeepsie Province.
CAMP SUNSET, PLATTEKILL, NEW YORK
In 1950 Monsignor Aloysius Dineen, Pastor of Holy Innocents Parish in New York City donated Camp Sunset in the hills of the lower Catskill Mountains of New York to the United States Province.(66.)
This three hundred acre camp, which had been neglected for three years, has been redeveloped since it became Marist property. The camp consists of three residences, a sturdy frame chapel building, a dining room-recreation hall building, and many small bungalows. It has been used for a rest camp for the brothers and students studying at the nearby houses of studies in Esopus and Poughkeepsie. Camp Sunset is now part of the Poughkeepsie Province.
RELIGIOUS VACATION SCHOOL
In 1958 Brother Linus William, Provincial of the United States Province, answered a request for brothers from Father Jeremiah N.emacek of St. Joan of Arc Parish in West Hurley, New York. These brothers were to conduct summer catechism classes for the children in Woodstock, West Hurley and West Shokan in the lower Catskill Mountains.(67.) Three brothers are therefore assigned every summer to the Esopus Provincial House from where they travel daily to teach the boys' section. Three Sister of Charity of Christian Instruction do likewise for the girls there. The sixty to eighty boys ranging from the third and ninth grade levels have little opportunity during the school year to learn the doctrines of their faith. This Marist apostolate, conducted on the church grounds of St. Joan's, is thus a substitute for a Catholic education.
The program conducted by the two religious communities offers one hour classes, organized recreational activities, a short instruction and a Missa Recitata, which concludes the morning session. According to an article appearing in the Bulletin of Studies:
MARIST SCHOOL FOR BOYS, SAVANNAH, GEORGIA
The Marist teaching apostolate extended to the South in 1919 as a result of negotiations between Brother Heribert, Provincial, and Father Vincent Foley, C.F.S., Vicar General of the Savannah Diocese. This priest, a former student of the brothers at St. Vincent de Paul School in New York City, highly recommended his former teachers to his superior, Bishop Kieley.(69.) Five brothers were therefore sent in September to staff Marist School for Boys. Brother Paul Stratonic was appointed the principal of this Cathedral Parish Grammar school.
For the next twenty years a full grammar school faculty taught a generation of boys to become an active laity in this predominantly Protestant area.(70.) Through the close co-operation of the small Catholic comminuty (7,000) the school became an influencial and efficient institution.
As a result of the economic depression of the thirties the Cathedral parish could not continue financing Marist School for Boys. Because the brothers could not continue their work, they planned to withdraw from the school in June 1939. The Bishop, Most Rev. Gerald P. 0'Hara, who did not want to loose their services requested Brother Paul Stratonic, Provincial, to staff a diocesan high school in Augusta, Georgia. His request was granted. The brothers returned to Georgia the next September to the diocesan school in Augusta.
AQUINAS HIGH SCHOOL, AUGUSTA, GEORGIA
Brother Nicholas Mary, former Director of Marist School in Savannah, opened Boys' Catholic High School in Augusta, Georgia in September 1939. The building assigned for the school and brothers' residence on Telfair Street was constructed in 1850 and had been used as a hospital during the Civil War. This structure served as school and brothers' residence for eighteen years.
The first year four brothers organized a junior high school for the sixty-six applicants.(71.) Slowly as the enrollment increased to two hundred and fifty-five additional brothers were assigned as the three other high school classes were opened. In time a closely-knit student body, composed of both Catholics and Protestants, co-operated in achieving high scholastic and athletic standings in the city and the surrounding area. Several Protestants were converted to Catholicism as the result of the influence of the brothers and the student body.
For many years other quarters were sought for a new school. In 1956 Archbishop Gerald P. 0'Hara contracted to have a ranch-type school built on Daniel Field. He wished to provide not only for the boys but also for the girls. As a result a coinstitutional high school was built along with brothers' residence. In September 1957, the brothers and students vacated Boys' Catholic and moved in what is known as "Aquinas High School". The girls from Mount St. Joseph, conducted by the Sisters of St. Joseph, were transferred to their wing of this school. The boys' junior high school was discontinued. A diocesan priest was appointed presiding principal of both departments. In October 1956, the Archbishop dedicated the new schoo1.(72.)
Today six Marist brothers and six Sisters of St. Joseph teach one hundred and fifty students in their respective departments. The brothers belong to the Esopus Province.
ST. JOSEPH AGADEMY, BROWNSVILLE, TEXAS
St. Joseph Academy had its beginning in 1866, when Father Guidet, O.M.I. had a small school built with money he had saved to visit his family.(73.) He managed the school for a while, then invited the Christian Brothers of the Schools to continue his work. Unfortunately they encountered too many difficulties and withdrew in 1895.(74.) In 1906 three Marist brothers arrived from Mexico City to takeover the direction of the school.
These missionaries, two French brothers and a Spanish brother, began the work of making the school a success. Brother Anthony Aubert, the first Director, devised various methods to attract students. From the original fifty students the enrollment increased annually. In 1920 and again in 1926 additional buildings had to be constructed to accommodate the increase in number of students.
The school soon built a fine reputation for scholastic achievement. It received accreditation in 1930 from the Texas Department of Education. In addition the program of exams sponsored by the Catholic University of America was adopted in 1945 to help maintain the high standards of the school.
During its history St. Joseph's has not only served as a grammar school and high school, but as a refuge for brothers fleeing the violent religious persecutions of Mexico. This was especially the case in 1914 and again in 1934• It also served as a Marist juniorate in 1951. This project, however, did not succeed because of the lack of applicants to the Marist life in this area.
One of the fondest dreams of the brothers in Brownsville was to sell the Academy and to build a new one on Canales Field. In 1942s Brother Louis Rodd, Director, took the first step toward this end by purchasing this field in the name of the Institute. Fourteen years later construction was begun.(75.) Financing such a project proved very difficult. But with the assistance of a popular drive two hundred thousand dollars were collected. The Esopus Province has assumed the rest of the financial obligations.
Before its completion in 1958 the Very Reverend Brother Leonidas Superior General, transferred the jurisdiction of the school to the Province of the United States. The first representatives of this Province attended the dedication ceremonies that were conducted by Bishop M.S. Garriga of Corpus Christi. In 1957 three brothers from the American Province arrived in Brownsville to begin replacing the Mexican Province brothers returning to their country. Today ten brothers teach 259 students in what is the oldest Marist school in the South and also its newest.
SAINT JOSEPH ACADEMY, LAREDO, TEXAS
Just as the Brownsville Academy was built and staffed by brothers fleaing Mexico at the turn of the century, similarly the Laredo Academy was founded by exiled brothers fleeing Mexico in 1934. Within three years they had the present academy constructed. Thirteen brothers were then assigned to both the grammar and high school classes. This new building offered the latest in modern facilities to accommodate three hundred and fifty-five students. Slowly the enrollment grew. In the early forties a gymnasium and a football field were readied to complete the Academy plan.(76.)
Since 1957 the brothers from the United States Province have replaced the brothers from the Mexican Province in this school at the request )f the major Superiors in Europe. Since the division of the Province Brothers from the Esopus Province are assigned here. Ten brothers now teach '.34 boys. At this writing the brothers are dropping tie lower grades year by year to relieve brothers for the staffing of the junior and high school.
CENTRAL CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL, WHEELING, WEST VIRGINIA
In 1933 Brother Paul Stratonic and seven brothers arrived in the Ohio Valley in answer to the request of His Excellency Bishop John J. Swint to staff Central Catholic High School in his episcopal city of Wheeling. For many years (1897-1925) the diocesan school had been conducted by the Xavarian Brothers. After their departure the Bishop appealed to other congregations to replace them. The Marist Brothers agreed to staff this school for September 1933.
Since that time the original enrollment of two hundred and thirty has increased to four hundred. The Diocese provided for the increase by the addition in 1937 of a gymnasium and classroom building. The community of brothers accordingly grew to fourteen.
In recent years the outdated brothers' residence and school proved to be a hardship for all. In order to meet the demands for better facilities, diocesan authorities decided to erect a new gymnasium (1957), and a new school building (1958-1961). These were dedicated on March 26, 1961. And lastly the Marist residence is under construction at this time (1961).
Since the division of the Province of the United States, the personnel of this school (12 brothers) has been furnished by the Poughkeepsie Province.
MARMION MILITARY ACADEMY, AURORA, ILLINOIS
Brother Louis Omer, Provincial, initiated the work of the brothers at this Benedictine Fathers Academy in Aurora, Illinois, in 1944. War time demands on the lay teachers there inspired the Abbot to request the Marist Brothers to replace them. Six brothers with Brother Thomas Austin as director were sent to establish a Marist community at Marmion Academy.
For thirteen years the brothers worked closely with the Benedictine Fathers. Together they taught four-hundred and twenty-four day students and two hundred and twenty resident students.
In the early fifties the Benedictine Fathers offered to sell the day school to the brothers. Serious considerations were iven by the Marist superiors to the acquisition of this property. But in 1997 a directive from Brother Superior General to send brothers to Texas necessitated the abandoning of the plan of purchase and the withdrawing of the brothers altogether.(77.)
CHRISTOPHER COLUMBUS HIGH SCHOOL, MIAMI, FLORIDA
At the request of Bishop Coleman Carroll of the Diocese of Miami, Florida, the Marist Brothers of the Esopus Province agreed to staff Christopher Columbus High School in Miami in 1959.
Upon his accesion to this See, Bishop Carroll began a program of building schools and churches. With the help of the people of the diocese, he had Christopher Columbus High School erected in 1957. The Bishop first staffed it with priests and lay teachers. Because he needed these priests for parish duties, he sought the assistance of the brothers to replace them.(78.)
The first community of six brothers arrived in Miami in August 1959. Brother Benedict Henry was appointed to replace Father Claude Brubaker as Principal. During the first six months the brothers and several lay teachers taught both regular students as well as the seminarians from nearby St. John Vianney Minor Seminary. In turn the Vincentian Fathers who conduct the seminary joined the High School faculty.
The school itself consisted of several buildings: two classroom buildings, a cafeterium, and a field house. The brothers' residence is situated in a section of one of the classroom buildings.
During the first year there were many needs to complete the facilities of the school. Fortunately a very active parents' organization found means to obtain funds to purchase laboratory equipment, football equipment, books for the library, furniture for the brothers' residence, and for the chapel. Their most noteworthy project was the drive to build a gymnasium. Through their efforts two major contributions were received for the gymnasium and laboratory equipment. The first was ninety-nine thousand dollars from Mr. & Mrs. Howard Korth, and the second, five thousand dollars for laboratory equipment from an anonymous donor. As a result, construction of an ultra modern gymnasium was completed in January 1961.(79.) It was dedicated on February 10th. Presently the school has the best of equipment and facilities to achieve notable scholastic and athletic results.
The present student body consists of four hundred and sixty-nine boys. In the near future an increase of three hundred and fifty is expected. Eventually the faculty will be increased to twenty brothers and ten lay teachers.
During the summer of 1961 hundreds of exiled religious from the communist controlled Island of Cuba landed in Miami. Bishop Coleman Carroll took great interest in seeing that these religious were housed and cared for. He invited the eighty-three Marist Brothers, who were expelled from fifteen schools in Cuba, to take residence at St. John Vianney seminary near the Marist residence in Miami.
Brother Pablo de la Cruz, provincial of these Cuban brothers, reassigned most of the brothers to Marist schools in Mexico, Chile, Guatemala and San Salvador.(80.) Sixteen he retained at the seminary to take courses in English at the request of the bishop. This was arranged for the purpose of having these brothers staff a high school in Carol City, outside Miami, in September 1961.(81.) Thirty others were assigned to St. Benedict's Abbey, Benet Lake, Wisconsin, and twelve young religious were assigned to Marist College, Poughkeepsie.
Brother Benedict Henry, director, and his Marist community helped to provide the many services needed to care for these new arrivals. Brother Director was asked to teach English at the seminary. Fifteen Christian Brothers, ten priests, and thirty seminarians arrived-at the seminary to take up residence and to take the offered courses.(82.)
CHAMPAGNAT HALL, HYATTSVILLE, MARYLAND
For many years the Marist superiors considered opening a house of studies near the Catholic University of America in Washington, D. C. To this end a six acre property was purchased in 1930, but for many years the Province could not finance any construction. In the meantime a second property was purchased in 1939. This latter property offered a two story house, which was a residence for sisters, the Servants of the Blessed Virgin. It suited the immediate needs of the Marist students, and provided sixteen acres of land in the town of Hyattsville, Maryland, a short distance from the University. It has been known as Champagnat Hall since.(83.)
Five brothers were assigned to establish the community there in the summer of 1939. Three of these started college courses at Catholic University, while the other two worked on the development of the estate. Similar Marist communities were assigned there annually until 1951. In that year the house was rented to the Fathers of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary. Six years later, Brother Linus William, Provincial, reopened the house as a Marist community.(84.)
In 1958 the University authorities obtained the services of the brothers as proctors for the Men's Residences or. the Campus. Champagnat Hall then became primarily a retreat from proctoring work, and a summer residence for brothers studying at the University. This establishment is presently assigned to the Poughkeepsie Province.
ST. PETETER'S SCHOOL, LEWISTON, MAINE
The first Marist community to be assigned to the United States arrived in Lewiston, Maine, in 1886, at the request of Father Mothon, O.P., Rector of Sts. Peter and Paul parish. Brother Come and three other brothers took over the boys$ department of this parish grammar school.
Although the brothers were well received by both the school authorities and the people, they soon met with serious difficulties which caused them to withdraw in 1894. According to a Maine law students were required to attend school for only four months of the year.(85.) A remark published in later years makes the situation clear:
Most of these boys worked for eight months of the year in local mills. To attract them to the school and to retain them, the brothers employed a variety a means. The situation, however, remained unchanged, so that the school work became progressively disappointing. Thus irregular attendance of the pupils and excessively large classes created problems that the brothers found impossible to cope with.
The Reverend Pastor traveled to Europe to confer with the major superiors and to allay the latter's concern. However no mutual agreement seemed possible and the Superior General decided to withdraw the brothers.
Although the brothers remained in Lewiston but a relatively short time, their work and influence was noted by several pastors of the New England area. These in turn requested brothers for their schools. The outcome was that in 1893 three other schools were staffed by Marist teachers.
ECOLE HEVEY, MANCHESTER, NEW HAMPSHIRE
The second Marist community to staff a school in the United States was assigned to St. Mary's parish in Manchester, New Hampshire, in 1890. Monsignor Hevey, the second pastor of this large and prosperous parish, had visited the Marist superiors in France the previous year to request Marist Brothers. As a result Brother Vitalicus and eight brothers arrived in Manchester during the summer of 1890 to assume the management of St. Mary's School.(87.)
For fifty-one years two generations of Franco-American boys in this city were taught by the brothers. In- the beginning classes were very large. For instance, in one first grade there were one hundred and thirty boys.(88.) These overcrowded conditions again evoked anxiety in the superiors. Happily the situation improved in 1912 when a modern brick building named after the late Monsignor Hevey was erected.
As the years rolled on the parish was divided so that many students left to attend other parish schools. Other hardsnips confronted the brothers, despite the good work accomplished and consequent esteem which the brothers enjoyed. The economic crash of 1929 and the resulting economic difficulties were a first cause of hardship. The Amoskeag Cotton and Woolen Mills, which eve work to three fourths of the population of the city, went bankrupt.(89.) The scarcity of money eventually led the pastor to suggest a decrease in salary for the brothers. Because the latter could not continue supporting themselves with a curtailment of revenue, they were withdrawn in the summer of 1941. Ten years later the brothers were asked to return, but other commitments in the Province made this move impossible. Because many brothers are graduates of Ecole Hevey or taught there, it has remained a source of pleasant memories in the Provinces.
ST. JOSEPH HIGH SCHOOL, LOWELL, MASSACHUSETTS
The pioneering brothers who taught in Lowell at the turn of the century have but the old building to remind them of the grammar school, which was one of the most prominent Marist schools when they taught there. Today seventy years later the changing times has found the brothers in a different residence and teaching high school students only.
In 1890 eight Marist Brothers, under the direction of Brother Chryseuil, were sent to the Oblate parish of St. Jean Baptiste to organize a boys' department of the parish school. Four hundred and fifty boys coming from this large Franco-American population composed the student body. For fourteen years all classes were taught in French.(90.) In 1904 the diocesan authorities directed that all subjects be taught in English. One hour a day was for the teaching of French. The original French brothers had no alternative but to try to master the new language as fast as possible. For this purpose summer courses for the brothers were held at the school. According to a report made in later years:
One of the more serious problems in this school, like other New England schools at the time, was the large number of students who left school before graduation in order to work in the mills. Of a peak enrollment of 1,220 in 1896 only two students graduated.(92.) In most cases the parents withdrew their sons after the sixth grade or after their first communion. This situation was slightly improved in 1910 and after when eighteen boys or more graduated from the eighth grade each year.
In 1907 and again in 1920 a high school department was organized, but without success because of limited enrollments. In 1934, at the strong insistence of Brother Emile Nestor and Brother Boniface, St. Joseph High School was at last firmly established. Following the economic crash of 1929, the faculty was reduced in some grades, and the Grey Nuns of the Holy Cross took them over.
As the high school slowly developed more brothers were withdrawn from the other Grades in order to teach in the High School department. Since 1950 only the eighth grade has been retained by the brothers in the elementary department. In recent years the school has taken on the character of a Central High School. The latest enrollments indicates that nine brothers of the Poughkeepsie Province teach 226 students. Forty of these are from the parish.(93.) At the end of a four year $77,000 renovation program (1956-1960) the school today prides itself in the latest facilities.
ST. ANNE SCHOOL, LAWRENCE, MASSACHUSETTS
In 1892 a Marist staff arrived at St. Anne Parish in Lawrence, Massachusetts, at the request of the Pastor, Father Portal, S.M. This priest heard good reports of the brothers teaching in Lewiston, Maine, and wrote to the superiors at St. Genis Laval in France for their services in his parish school. Brother Angelicus, the first director, and five other brothers arrived in this Franco-American parish to begin the arduous work of organizing an efficient school. Their success can be evidenced by the following: "What had been an unruly group of boys turned out to be the pride of Father Portal, and the relief of the local police officers."(94.)
For fifty-eight years the brothers staffed this school. The student body ranged from four to five hundred. From 1920 to 1928 a high school department was established at St. Anne's. Here again the lack of applicants for this department discouraged its continuance. In 1935 Brother Mary Florentius, Principal of St. Ann's, sought the backing of the pastors of greater Lawrence for founding a high school for boys of their parishes.(95.) It was the start of Central Catholic High School, one of the best known schools in the Boston area. When it began, a number of brothers were withdrawn from St. Anne's Marist faculty of twelve to teach in the new high school.(96.) Fifteen years later, in 1950, the four remaining brothers were finally withdrawn and the Sisters of the Good Shepherd took over the boys' department.
CENTRAL CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL, LAWRENCE, MASS.
After the decline of Marist activity in New England, prosperous Central Catholic High School is a source of pride and joy for -;he many brothers who formerly taught in that area. In September 1935 fifty-five students composed the first two classes of Central Catholic in the Knights of Columbus building in Lawrence. From this building they moved in November into an abandoned public school, Hampshire Street School and others.(97.)
It was a hazardous venture which needed friends. They were found in the Central Catholic High School Welfare League, and the Ladies Auxilliary. With their help funds were accumulated through well organized social activities for student scholarships and for expansion purposes.(98.)
The faculty for the first year consisted of Brother Thomas Austin Principal, and Brother Joannes Marius.(99.) Their work bore fruit after three strenuous years of unceasing activity. A few months after the founder of the school, Brother Florentius, died in 1938; 281 students moved from three temporary quarters into the new building.(100.) Brother Joseph Abel and the succeeding directors slowly developed this small school into an institution which today accommodates 915 students.(101.)
In 1948 Brother Nilus Vincent, treasurer of the school, was appointed construction engineer of the gymnasium project. For two years a group of fifty brothers spent holidays and summers erecting a 200 x 300 concrete gymnasium-classroom building. In 1950 His Excellency Archbishop Richard J. Cushing of Boston dedicated this structure. Again in 1958 a building program to replace the frame residence for the brothers and to build additional offices and classrooms was begun. In 1960, the silver jubilee year of its foundation, the brothers moved into the prepared quarters in an additional story on the gymnasium building. This project was initiated as part of a ten year expansion program. For the years to come the brothers of the Poughkeepsie Province hope to increase the enrollment to reach the many applicants who now have to be refused.
ST. JOSEPH SCHOOL, HAVERHILL, MASSACHUSETTS
The Marist Brothers arrived in Haverhill, Massachusetts, at the request of Father J. Remy, S.M., of St. Joseph's Parish. In September 1903 Brother Priscillianus, Director, and two other brothers began their work of education in this parish grammar school. Their initial success pointed to a very promising future. With the enrollment gaining year by year, there were four hundred and thirty students taught by nine brothers in 1911.(102.)
The work of the brothers was carried with the usual Marist efficiency until the depression years during which the number of students and faculty members slowly dropped. In 1947 there were only four brothers at St. Joseph's. Because the emphasis at this time was on secondary education, Brother Louis Omer, Provincial, withdrew the brothers in June 1947. Today many of the sons of former pupils of this school are registered at nearby Central Catholic High School in Lawrence for their high school study.
ST. JEANNE D'ARC, SCHOOL, LOWELL, MASSACHUSETTS
The history of the Marist Brothers at St. Jeanne D'Arc School in Lowell, Massachusetts is very brief and has less significance in the growth of the Province. After repeated requests for brothers, Fr. Eugene Turcotte, O.M.I., an alumnus of the brothers' school in Lowell, obtained three brothers in 1936 to teach the upper grammar grades of the school. Brother Charles Raymond was named principal of the 125 boys in the boys' department. By 1946 the brothers were needed for high school work. Since this school showed little promise in further development, the Grey Nuns of the Hol Cross took over the boys' department and the brothers were reassigned elsewhere.
SAINT JOSEPH JUNIORATE, TYNGSBORO, MASSACHUSETTS
The history of St. Joseph Juniorate runs through twenty-seven years. It starts in 1922 with the erection of a building under the competent supervision of Brother Aloysius Mary, who planned accommodations for approximately sixty to seventy-five students. Until 1949 this institution prepared the Marist vocations from the New England area. Since that time it has served as a novitiate.
The plan to build a boarding school and juniorate in the New England area was envisioned many years before it was actually implemented. From 1907 until 1913 the idea was debated.(103.) It was only in 1921 that a suitable location for a building was located three miles from the Marist community in Lowell, on the 240 acre Wanalancet Farm in Tyngsboro, Massachusetts thirty miles from Boston.(104.) It was purchased in 1922 for $16,000.(105.) A beautiful colonial building dating back to 1676 served as a community residence until the main building was completed.
Brother Edmund Alphonse was appointed director and first master of juniors in August 1924 when twelve Poughkeepsie juniors were transferred to Tyngsboro.(106.) Until 1932 the juniorate was conducted solely as a grammar school; in 1939 the grammar school was replaced by three years of high school.
The Juniorate property includes 300 acres of land, sixty-eight of which are under cultivation.(107.) During the Second World War the farm produce and meat from the cattle and pigs insured a constant supply of fresh foods at a time when these were costly items.
On December 3, 1933 a fire destroyed much of the furniture and ruined part of the third floor of the juniorate. The Book of Annals on this date reads:
What seemed to be a terrible blow was a blessing to the developing Province. With the insurance money received, the third floor was rebuilt, and an elaborate chapel and another dormitory were added to the Community facilities. This money came fortunately at a time when the depression had greatly reduced finances of the Province.
In 1949 the Juniorate became a novitiate and Brother Joseph Damian and his forty juniors were transferred to the old novitiate house in Poughkeepsie, New York.
ST. JOSEPH NOVITIATE, TYNGSBORO, MASSACHUSETTS
In August 1949 Brother Louis Omer, Master of Novices at the Poughkeepsie novitiate,took up residence with his twenty-three novices and his faculty in the Tyngsboro Juniorate.(109.) That September over fifty postulants joined the novitiate group. This group formed the first novices of the Novitiate invested with the Marist cassock on July 26, 1950.(110.) Since that time sixty to a hundred young men have studied here each year.
Succeeding Brother Louis Omer as master, Brothers Pius and David assumed the direction of the training program for candidates for the Marist life. In 1954 only high school graduates were accepted in Tyngsboro. Since that time the first year of study has been devoted to college work, and the second has been reserved for subjects proper to a novitiate. Since 1949 three hundred candidates have received the Marist habit in Tyngsboro.
In 1959, as a result of the division of the Province, a separate novitiate was established in Esopus, New York, for the candidates of that Province. The Tyngsboro novitiate, which was assigned to the Poughkeepsie Province, continues to educate candidates for that Province.
ST. ANN CAMP, ISLE LA MOTTE, VERMONT
With the establishment of St. Ann Camp, Isle La Motte, Vermont, in 1908, the Marist Brothers became pioneers in the Catholic summer camp movement in the United States. Brother Zephiriny, founder and director of St. Ann's Academy in New York City (1892-1904), had organized a summer camp for students at St. Ann's at such places as Ruxton Falls, Granby, Beauceville and St. Vincent de Paul in the Quebec Province, Canada; and at Walkill, New York. His purpose as mentioned in "Faded Laurels" in the Bulletin of Studies:
Thus in 1907 a site on Isle La Motte on Lake Champlain was rented for ninety-nine years from the town of Auburn, Vermont.(112.) Here St. Ann Camp was established, and here it prospered for the next twenty-three years. Its peak enrollment was 125 in 1925. The depression again took its toll as the Provincial Administration decided to close the camp in 1930, but delayed the closing until 1931. No other attempt was made to establish a summer camp for the next eighteen years.
CAMP MARIST FOR BOYS, CENTER OSSIPEE, N.H.
Camp Fritz in Center Ossipee, New Hampshire, was purchased for $65,000 by the Province of the United States in 1949. The excellent three hundred acre property located forty miles from Manchester, New Hampshire, provided the brothers with two large frame administration buildings, a suitable dining hall building, recreation hall building, several large bungalows, a dozen private cabins and a fine beach on Levitt Bay.(113.)
Brother Benedict Henry was named director of the camp, now known as Camp Marist for Boys, and charged with the renovation program for the opening of the first season in 195 0. Forty brothers made up the first faculty of administrators, counselors, and workers.
During the ten years Brother Benedict headed this camp he supervised the moving of several bungalows to make way for the construction of seven long bungalows to accommodate 210 boys; expanding the beach facilities to include 220 yards; constructing a large colonial-type chapel, Our Lady of Fatima Chapel, two faculty residences, a canteen, stables; and directed several renovation projects.(114.) He also supervised the inauguration of intercamp and sports programs so as to make Camp Marist well known in the region. When he was assigned elsewhere, he left with the satisfaction that the camp had prospered well and that it had gained membership in the National Catholic Camp Association.
In 1959 the Camp was entrusted to the Esopus Province. Brother Joseph Abel was appointed to succeed Brother Benedict. Brothers from both provinces continue to compose the faculty of seventy each season.
SAINT MICHAEL SCHOOL, MONTREAL, CANADA
The Marist Brothers arrived at St. Michael School in Montreal, Canada, in September 1907. At the request of Father John P. Kiernan, founder and Pastor of St. Michael Parish, Rev. Brother Stratonique, A.G. negotiated the establishment of a Marist community of three brothers for the first year.
Brother Paul Mary, the first director, organized classes from the 165 boys of Irish ancestry who reported to the school on September 4, 1907. The early success the brothers achieved in developing an excellent scholastic, spiritual and athletic program soon attracted many students to the school. The faculty was increased to meet the expanded enrollment. In 1920 twelve brothers were assigned here.
The jurisdiction of the brothers teaching at St. Michael's passed from the Province of Canada and the United States to that of the Province of the United States when the latter was created in 1911. Ten years later the St. Michael faculty was the only one assigned to Canada from the Poughkeepsie Provincial House. This fact along with the difficulties that arose to prepare teachers for this school, the changing nature of the parish soon caused the American superiors to consider a withdrawal of the brothers from this school. This came about in June 1925. With the recall of this faculty not one American faculty was sent out of the United States until a mission territory was opened in the Philippine Islands in 1948.
ST. BONIFACE COLLEGE, ST. BONIFACE, MANITOBA, CANADA
The Marist Brothers were invited to St. Boniface College by His Excellency Archbishop Langevin, O.M.I., in 1910. He wished them to assist the Jesuit Fathers who conducted the College, by teaching the preparatory and commercial courses.(115.) In September of that year, Brother Ptolemeus, Provincial, assigned Brother Namase as director of the community of three brothers to initiate the Marist apostolate in the Manitoba region.
This was the first time that brothers were sent to this distant part of Canada. Manitoba is the eastern-most of the prairie provinces of Canada, The capital, Winnepeg, is situated across the Red River from St. Boniface, which is about seventy miles from the borders of Minnesota and North Dakota in the United States.(116.)
In 1911, when the United States Province was created this school was assigned to it and seven brothers from this Province were appointed to continue the work there. This community became a center for other Marist communities that were established in that region in 1912 and 1913. However, because of the lack of promise in the latter establishments, and the loss of personnel in the Province during the First World War, the brothers were withdrawn from all the schools and the College (1917) by 1921 in the Manitoba region.(117.)
ST. NORBERT SCHOOL, ST. NORBERT, MANITOBA
St. Norbert School was the first of the Manitoba country schools staffed b y the Marist Brothers. The community assigned to this school in 1912 was thus fifteen miles west of St. Boniface across the Red River.
During the three short years the brothers taught at St. Norbert, they realized fine results with the students, but met with serious difficulties from the village school commissioners. By 1915 the problems seemed beyond solution so the brothers were withdrawn from this school.
ST. ANNE DES CHENES SCHOOL, ST. ANNE DES CHENES, MANITOBA
Three Marist Brothers were assigned in 1913 to staff another small school in the Manitoba region of St. Anne Des Chenes. They resided twentyfive miles from St. Boniface, east of the Red River. In this school the brothers succeeded unusually well. As a special feature they offered agricultural and art courses in addition to religious instruction and French classes after school hours.(118.)
But again after two years the Marist community had to be withdrawn because of lack of personnel. The Marist superiors had intended to resume service there once normal conditions were restored after World War I. But in 1920 Brother Heribert, Provincial, had to inform the pastor of St. Anne Des Chenes that the American Province could not send brothers to the school.(119.)
ST. PIERRE JOLYS SCHOOL
St. Pierre Jolys School was one of the most successful Marist schools in the Manitoba district. Three brothers were assigned to it in 1913. They were the most distant Marist community from St. Boniface, thirty-five miles south.
The dedication of the brothers and the good results of the students pleased both pastor and people. So it was not long before several students from this school asked to be admitted to the Marist Institute.
Here, as well as in the other Marist schools nearby, the School Commission insisted on Manitoba teaching certificates rather than Quebec diplomas. No attempt to solve this problem was made because of the uncertainty of maintaining the Marist faculty there during the war years. In fact, in 1921 Brother Heribert, Provincial, notified the authorities that the brothers would be withdrawn at the end of the scholastic year. But he did try to interest the Canadian Provincial of the possibility for that Province of developing the area and of staffing St. Pierre Jolys School. The Canadian Provincial, Brother Gabriel Mary, studied the situation. His report was published in later years:
Thus ended the work of the brothers in the Manitoba region of Canada.
THE PHILIPPINE DISTRICT
Since 1948 significant advances have been made by the Marist Brothers in staffing mission schools in the Philippine Islands at the request of His Excellency, Bishop Gerard Mongeau, O.M.I. These Advances enabled the General Council of the Institute to organize this mission territory into an autonomous district in 1960. This decision was the result of twelve years of dedication by missionary brothers from the Province of the United States (1948-1959), and from the Province of Esopus (1959-1960), and of the financial assistance offered by both.
On the occasion of the visitation of Marist schools in the Philippines by Reverend Brother Paul Ambrose, Assistant General, in May 1960, plans were drawn for this creation of a Marist District for the Philippines. Shortly after his return to the Mother House, approval of this new district from Marist superiors was obtained. On September 12, 1960 it became a reality when the Very Reverend Brother Charles Raphael, Superior General, promulgaged the official Vatican approbation indult 10975/60.(121.) This announcement also contained the appointment of Brother Humbert Damian as Visitor and of five brothers to assist him in the government of the District.(122.)
In recognition of the leadership shown by Brother Maurus James in the development of this Mission, Reverend Brother Assistant General wrote:
At this writing the mission district numbers forty professed brothers. Sixteen American brothers and thirteen Filipino brothers staff the schools; four American brothers are on leave in the United States and France; and thirteen are in the houses of studies.(124.) The continued interest of the Province of Esopus in the prosperity of the Philippine District will continue by providing personnel and financial assistance for expansion purposes.
What follows is a brief summary of the respective histories of the Philippine Marist communities.
NOTRE DAME OF COTABATO HIGH SCHOOL
Notre Dame of Cotabato High School is situated on the outskirts of Cotabato City, a city in the northwestern section of the Island of Mindanao. In 1948 Brother M. James, Director, and three other brothers (Humbert Damian, Herbert Daniel and Peter Leonard) arrived to replace the Oblates of Mary Immaculate Fathers, who were conducting the school. Here the brothers faced the hazardous and painful conditions of threats to their lives, poor living quarters, daily poverty and teaching in a thatched hut.
Their ability as builders and their will to succeed soon drew many students to a concrete and frame structure, built by the brothers and native helpers. The local government offered the services of Japanese war prisoners to excavate for the building, and to do the work or landscaping what is now the beautiful drill and basket-ball courts.
The brothers adopted a curriculum similar to that in use in American Marist schools. In addition, lay teachers were employed to teach the national language, Tagalogs and for military and vocational training. Like other Notre Dame High Schools in this Cotabato Vicariate# this school was the first to adopt the twenty-six unit system and khaki uniforms, and initiat the annual Notre Dame Schools meets.(125.)
In the years that followed other brothers arrived to help expand Marist services in the city. The enrollment at Cotabato was increased, so that in 1960 the enrollment reached 704 students. The graduates from this school have been encouraged since the early years to continue their education at the diocesan college in this city. The success achieved by the brothers here encouraged the Marist superiors to add more schools to this mission territory.
NOTRE DAME OF MARBEL HIGH SCHOOL
In 1950 the second Marist missionary group of four brothers arrived in the Philippines to provide for a faculty at Notre Dame of Marbel High School in the central part of the Island of Mindanao known as Koronodal. One of the new arrivals, Brother Edmund Conrad, was appointed to direct the school, which had also been conducted by the Oblate Fathers. Here again the thatched but school and convento which the brothers inherited caused hardships similar to those which the brothers at Cotabato had experienced in 1948.
And here again through the ingenuity of the brothers, cement bricks were manufactured for the erection of two schools buildings and a brothers' residence. Four years later the completed Notre Dame of Marbel plant was referred to as the "pride of the Marist schools in the Philippines." That year (1954) a college department was introduced in the new buildings serving for both high school and college courses.
As the first Marist venture in college work developed in the Philippines, an increased number of lay teachers were employed to help staff the college. In the American Marist publication "Newsletter" a report on this college gave an insight into the program it offered:
The influence of the brothers in this school is evidenced by the 485 students in the High School Department, by the 545 in the College Department, and in the number of pagans who are taking instructions in the Faith from brothers who go into the nearby mountains for that purpose on Saturdays and holidays.
NOTRE DAME OF LAGAO HIGH SCHOOL
In 1952 four brothers under the direction of Brother Humbert Damian arrived in the small town of Lagao in southwestern part of the Island of Mindanao in the section of General Santos to undertake the management of a high school. Here on a sixteen acre property, they found native buildings which served a parish church, rectory, a girls school, a sisters' convento, a boys' school and a brothers' residence. Soon afterwards the brothers initiated another program of replacing these quarters by brick buildings similar to the ones at Marbel. The results of their labors were two five-classroom buildings for 180 boys and a brothers' residence.
Many students attending Notre Dame of Lagao in the early days traveled to the school from neighboring Dadiangas. To relieve these students of the arduous daily trek, the brothers first purchased a truck to transport them back and forth. Then in 1952 an annex to Notre Dame of Lagao High School was opened in Dadiangas to accommodate these students.(127.) This annex obtained a regular faculty a year later.
For fifteen months, from January 1959 until March 1960, candidates studying for the Marist brotherhood studied at a temporary novitiate at Notre Dame of Lagao. Once the novitiate building was ready at Tamontaka, a few miles from Cotabato City, Brother Louis Omer, master of novices, and his aspirants left Lagao. The four aspirants will soon return to do their college work. A scholasticate building will be erected for that purpose.
NOTRE DAME OF DADIANGAS HIGH SCHOOL
Notre Dame of Dadiangas High School had its beginnings in 1953 as an annex of Notre Dame of Lagao High School. Classes were held in the partitioned parish church for the first group of sixtyfive students. Two years later a Marist faculty was assigned to Dadiangas, where they once again began a building program for a school and a brothers' residence.
To better provide for these students, a brick structure was proposed on an eight acre property in the city of Dadiangas. To the surprise of the brothers, vociferous protests were made by bigots headed by a city councilor. The hotly contested right of the brothers to build even reached the national government at Manila. The brothers finally won their case and obtained the desired site, and the proposed buildings were erected between December 1958 and June 1959.(128.)
As the new Notre Dame of Dadiangas High School opened its doors, college students were admitted after the regular school hours. Thus was born Notre Dame of Dadiangas College. On November 27, 1959, Bishop Mongeau of Cotobato traveled to Dadiangas to bless this new structure. Reverend Reginald Arliss, C.P. spoke to the gathered. missionaries, students, and friends of the school:
At this writing the enrollment of the high school department and college department is 261 and 301 respectively. It is hoped that this institution will develop with the same prosperity which this commercial hub on the Celebes Sea is presently enjoying.
NOTRE DAME OF KIDAPAWAN HIGH SCHOOL
In 1954 Brother Maurus James, Director, and two other brothers arrived in the city of Kidapawan along the National Highway in the central part of the Island of Mindanao in the Province of Cotabato. Here these brothers undertook the direction of a school as they had done at Cotabato and Marbel.
The following year Brother Denis Herman was entrusted with a building program which included a ten-room school building and a brothers t residence to replace the original buildings of bamboo and nipa. As the work progressed, money received principally from the Marist Mission League in New York City enabled the project to proceed smoothly. In addition three thousand books from Marist schools in the United States were received for the library.(130.)
IMMA CULATE CONCEPTION NOVITIATE, TAMONTAKA
The inauguration of the Immaculate Conception Novitiate had its inception in the mind of Brother Louis Omer, the present master of novices there. It was to establish a novitiate in the Philippines that he left his position as master of novices at St. Joseph Novitiate, Tyngsboro, Massachusetts in 1952. Because of the numerous problems involved, the plan was delayed until 1959.
The Novitiate property, a gift of Mr. Jovencio Broce, worth 415,000 is located seven kilometers from Notre Dame of Cotabato High School. Construction of the building was begun in 1959. Before it was completed the official Roman indult to establish this novitiate was received.(131.) Brother Louis Omer, who had been training five candidates at Notre Dame of Lagao, moved into the new quarters at Tamontaka in the spring of 1960. On May 1, 1960 Bishop Morgeau presided at the first Filipino Marist investiture ceremony at Cotabato Cathedral.
At this writing there are five novices and eight postulants studying at Tamontaka. Further training of these will begin at Notre Dame of Lagao, where they will study for the bachelors degree.
NOTRE DAME OF JOLO, HIGH SCHOOL
In 1959 three Marist Brothers arrived on the Island of Jolo in the Sulu Archipelago of the Philippines to conduct Bishop Francis McSorley's school. Here the brothers found a new school building and a brothers residence. This situation allowed the small faculty to concentrate on apostolic work without having the arduous task of implementing a building program.(132.)
Brother Herman Edwin, the first Director, began organizing the program of studies for the high school in which he emphasized the field of religious instruction. Because half of the students are Moslem, the task he set for the brothers was challenging. He encouraged the students to attend frequent masses and to participate in Catholic Action programs. The immediate results were quite noticeable. Ten have been converted and several Chinese students are taking instruction to become Catholics.
THE JAPANESE MISSIONS
The Marist Brothers were introduced into Japan as a result of the violent Communist persecutions on the China mainland in 1950. European brothers who had spent many years in China sought refuge that year in the city of Kobe, Japan. To maintain community life and to extend Marist influence to the foreign colony in that city, they opened an English-speaking school there.
The major Marist superiors in Europe considered this development an investment in the opening of a mission territory in Japan.
The Superior General requested the Provincial Council of the United States Province to furnish the personnel and finances for this mission. It was only in 1957 that the American Province accepted the new challenge and sent three brothers to study at the Franciscan University in Tokyo, Japan. Since then a fifth American brother, and three Spanish brothers who obtained their bachelor's degree at Marist College have joined the Marist contingent there.
When the United States Province was divided in 1959, the Japanese mission territory was entrusted to the Poughkeepsie Province. Four months later, in June 1959, the European brothers in Japan were transferred to that Province.
The success the brothers at Kobe during the past ten years is evidenced by the application of two Japanese to enter the Marist life. One is presently attending the University in Tokyo, and the other is a novice at St. Joseph Novitiate in Tyngsboro, Massachusetts. The hope of opening a Japanese-speaking school is nearing reality. It is expected that a $300,000 investment in a high school in Kumamoto., on the Island of Kyushu, will draw a large Japanese student body. Requests for brothers to teach in Tokyo and other places in Japan give evidence that the Marist future in that country is very encouraging.
MARIST BROTHERS SCHOOL, KOBE
Marist Brothers School was organized by European brothers in the city of Kobe in 195 1. Brother Louis Charles, Director, and his small Marist community started the school with sixteen foreign students. The enrollment grew slowly in the years that followed. In 195 7 at the end of Brother Louis' six year tenure, there were 142 students. The program of studies which he introduced was the same used in the English colonies, that is, the program to prepare students for the coveted Cambridge (English) diploma. At present there are ten brothers on the faculty teaching 240 students. An annex is under construction at this time to accommodate more students.
KUMAMOTO MARISTO HIGH SCHOOL, KUMAMOTO, JAPAN
The Marist Brothers arrived at Kumamoto in 1959 at the invitation of the Columban Fathers in the city of Kumamoto on the Island of Kyushu. Since this city is the commercial center of the Ken (state) and the population of 350,000 has at least 1,700 Catholics, the Fathers recommended that the Marist Brothers open their first Japanese-speaking school here.(134.)
Brother Patrick Francis, one of the three American brothers who arrived in Tokyo in 1957, was appointed as the director of a two year building project involving two three-story buildings. On May 15, 1960 Bishop Dominic Fukohari and Brother Paul Ambrose# Assistant General, participated in the laying of the cornerstone ceremonies. On April 12, 1961 the brothers opened Marist High School for the first Japanese student body of 73 boys in this slowly expanding Marist mission territory. Lay teachers were employed to teach most of the subjects, while brothers serve as administrators, and as teachers of English and Religion. Later when native vocations will be available, these will replace the lay teachers.
It is expected that the development of the Japanese mission territory by the Poughkeepsie Province will follow a similar pattern at Kumamoto. The future of the Mission lies in the success of t is school, and in the number of native vocations it will attract.(135.)
last updated on July 14, 2004